Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) was set up on the 26th day of January, 1975 under the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development. Authority Act 1974, Government of Maharashtra as an apex body for planning and co-ordination of development activities in the Region.

The goal of achieving a balanced development of the Region is attempted by the MMRDA through the following strategies :

*    Preparation of Perspective Plans.
*    Promotion of Alternative Growth Centers.
*    Strengthening of infrastructure facilities.
*    Provision of Development Finance.

In order to implement these strategies, the MMRDA prepares plans, formulates policies and programmes and helps in directing investments in the Region. In particular, it conceives, promotes and monitors the key projects for developing new growth centers and bring about improvement in sectors like transport, housing, water supply and environment in the Region. Moreover, if a project is of particular significance, the MMRDA takes up the responsibility for its implementation.

The following table provides the list of Municipal Corporations and Municipal Councils, within MMR,  along with their population and area during the year 2001.

Name Administrative Status Area in sq. km Total Population(2001)
Mumbai (MCGM) Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai 437.71 11978450
Thane Municipal Corporation 128.23 1262551
Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation 163 704002
Kalyan – Dombivali Municipal Corporation 137.15 1193512
Ulhasnagar Municipal Corporation 27.54 473731
Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation 88.75 520388
Bhiwandi-Nizampur Municipal Corporation 28.31 598741
Nalasopara Municipal Council 31.62 184538
Navgarh – Manikpur Municipal Council 17 116723
Vasai Municipal Council 8 49337
Virar Municipal Council 19.58 118928
Ambernath Municipal Council 34.93 203804
Badlapur Municipal Council 48.58 97948
Uran Municipal Council 2.10 23251
Panvel Municipal Council 12.17 104058
Karjat Municipal Council 7.53 25531
Matheran Municipal Council 7.38 5139
Pen Municipal Council 9.82 30201
Alibagh Municipal Council 1.81 19496
Khopoli Municipal Council 30.23 58664